Understanting ukranians: Uliana Domasheva

When you want to understand something, you must go directly to the principal source. Being in Ukraine, I was curious about how ukranians are, what qualities they have, by what they are guided in life, what’s the general thinking and who remarks among others 🙂

From all ukrainians I got to know in these 4 weeks, I was pleasently surprised by Uliana. I met her in my first day in Ukraine, at Local Comittee, as she was the Customer Service Manager in AIESEC Kiev. Meeting her also at our Welcome Party and at the training of writing, I was wondering how a person can send positive energy all the time 😀 So, Uliana was my first principal source in finding out how ukrainians are. 

Cristina: Tell me, firstly, some words about yourself. What should people know most about yourself? What’s the unique element you have?

UlianaMy name is Uliana, I’m 20 years old and I study Journalism. I began to write short stories when I was 12 and I have published my first book when I was 15. After I finished my high school I tried to work in different spheres but nothing suits me better then writing stories. I decided to go to India as a volunteer at the age of 18. It was my engagement with AIESEC. After that in 6 months I went to Mexico. Traveling is still a big part of my life and I’m grateful to all my adventures abroad for making me the person you know.

Cristina: I saw that you are studying Journalism at Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. Why did you choose this University? What can you tell me about the others Universities in Kiev, or maybe in all Ukraine?

Uliana: Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv is well known Ukrainian university which is considered to be one of the best in our country. There are not so many universities in Ukraine to study Journalism and as I didn’t want to move to another city I decided to try to enter this university. Successfully. I even got governmental scholarship for that 🙂 Talking about others universities, I really respect students from Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. They are real free spirits and inspired romantics.

Cristina: How would you put in a single word the ukrainian nature? 

Uliana: Colorful, I think.

Cristina: Does being a ukrainian girl make you proud? And why it’s that? 

UlianaI am proud to be Ukrainian because now we finally revealed ourselves as a single nation. Before our revolution started I was a little bit ashamed of my country and its people. But times have changed and now I can proudly say that I am Ukrainian. 

Cristina: Where is your best place in Ukraine? 

Uliana: Crimea, Black Sea.

Cristina: What do you like most at Ukrainian people and Ukraine? 

Uliana: Hospitality and sense of humor. 

Cristina: What ukrainian tradition you like the most? It can be from every domain you know, including weedings, being a host etc. 

Uliana: My favorite one is Easter, when the whole family unites to go together to the church and then to eat together delicious food as the Great Feast ends at that day. My granny cooks delicious traditional cake called Pasca (or Kulich) and we eat it all together, celebrating the Resurrection of Christ. 

Cristina: In the end, tell us something about ukrainians that not so many people know! 😀 

UlianaSometimes you need to offer something to a shy Ukrainian three times. Once he refuses, on the second time probably also, but on the third time he/she definitely agrees. Also Ukrainians adore drunk singing, this is why we have karaoke almost in every bar and restaurant. Besides, Ukrainians have warm hearts and mostly are always ready to help. 

This interview took place through e-mail, as Uliana was in Vienna and me in Kiev. 😀 

ea629e11bd982809757605222d138fb5

Lasă un comentariu